The various meanings of DUI
DUI stands for “Driving Under the Influence” and refers to driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, such as prescribed medications. Certain over-the-counter medications can interfere with a person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely as well. The specific criminal offense may also be called, depending on the jurisdiction, driving under intense influence (DUII), driving while intoxicated (DWI), operating while intoxicated (OWI) and operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OMVI). Many less popular acronyms also exist across the country. It is important to remember that these laws do not just apply to driving a car, but also apply to boating, piloting an aircraft, riding a horse or conducting a horse-drawn vehicle, or even cycling.
If you have been arrested for suspicion of DUI, it is imperative to understand your legal rights. After all, even in the face of overwhelming evidence, you are presumed legally innocent unless a court trial proves otherwise. A DUI case is not to be taken lightly and it is highly recommended to contact an experienced Los Angeles DUI Attorney to evaluate your case and ensure the best outcome.
What is the Process of a DUI Charge and Arrest?
In the state of California, the blood alcohol content of a person driving a motor vehicle must not exceed 0.08%. Most of the people who have been arrested for a DUI in Los Angeles or elsewhere in the state either were pulled over on a routine traffic stop or for a DUI checkpoint. Once the officer has pulled the car over, he or she will look for objective signs of intoxication. If the person is slurring their words, has watery eyes, or smells of alcohol, the driver will be asked to submit to a field sobriety test. In the event of a DUI checkpoint, the California and Federal Supreme Courts have established strict standards as to how they carry out those checkpoints, but the officers will generally look for symptoms of intoxication in the same manner as for a traffic stop.
What Are The Penalties For a DUI Conviction?
If convicted for DUI in California for the first time, a person can receive a maximum of six months in jail with fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs, Driver’s license suspension of 6 to 12 months and a court imposed attendance of DUI School for 12 to 45 hours. (These numbers largely depend on your attorney and the damages caused by your DUI). Probation is a distinct possibility, as is the fitting of an interlock device onto the offender’s vehicle. These devices must be blown into with a satisfactory reading before the car is allowed to start. Subsequent arrests and convictions for DUI carry even stiffer penalties, and if there are injured parties because of your DUI, the penalties increase exponentially.
Contact Los Angeles DUI Attorneys
In any event, a competent California DUI Attorney who is experienced in DUI cases should be retained to ensure the most favourable outcome. While it is possible to defend oneself against a DUI charge, very few of those people are satisfied with the outcome. Skilled and experienced California DUI attorneys such as McFarlin LLP can help in terms of evaluating the situation and limiting the damage that can be caused by a DUI conviction. In certain situations we can even stop the case before it gets started by proving the stop was unlawful. Our DUI attorneys will provide you with a free consultation and case evaluation, call us today at (888) 728 0044, or email us.